top of page

/previous editions/2018

/press release 2018

Awards conclude the renewed Sydney World Film Festival:

Sydney World Film Festival has announced the award winners for the 2018 edition. The prize for the best narrative feature film went to Hurry Slowly (Norway) by Anders Emblem. Hurry Slowly (Skynd Deg Sakte) is a warm slice-of-life film about Fiona and her younger brother Tom, whom she takes care of. We follow Fiona over a few life-changining summer months on the north-western coast of Norway, where she juggle the care of her brother, her job at the local ferry and her interest in music.

Sola (Australia) by Jonathan Nix received the award for best Australian film. This creepy well crafted animated music video that tells the story about a world that collapses and humanity walking on oblivious, compulsively editing selfies and updating profiles.

The prize for the best documentary feature was for Take Me Home (Viet Nam) by Louis Corallo. An emotional journey that deals about an Australian man that suffers a massive stroke in Vietnam. This tells the story about his relationship with his carer and his battle to return home after open brain surgery. Generation Mars (Norway) by Alexander Armas Turpin received the prize for best narrative short film. The best documentary short film went to Drop The Mic (Australia) by James Blannin-Ferguson.

The best experimental film was for Alireza Keymanesh and Amir Pousti for 'Flatland' (Iran). The Boudoir (Canada) by David Latreille won the prize for best music video and Train Man (United States) by Alex Barsky finally won the prize for best animated film.

The Sydney World Film Festival aims to introduce quality, non-mainstream films from global filmmakers. A showcase for the work of cinema masters as well as rising talents.

/official selection 2018

Take Me Home (Viet Nam) by Louis Corallo (Best Documentary Feature Film)

The Boudoir (Canada) by David Latreille (Best Music Video)

Elene (Turkey) by Sezen Kayhan

Drop The Mic (Australia) by James Blannin-Ferguson (Best Documentary Short Film)

149th And Grand Concourse (United States) by Andy and Carolyn London

#selfie (Germany) by David M. Lorenz

Backstory (Germany) by Joschka Laukeninks

Cargo (Germany) by Jasmine Ellis

Je suis différent.e (France) by Ben Lemaire

Hurry Slowly (Norway) by Anders Emblem (Best Narrative Feature Film)

Sola (Australia) by Jonathan Nix (Best Australian Film)

Train Man (United States) by Alex Barsky (Best Animated Film)

Truck (Turkey) by Canbert Yerguz

Generation Mars (Norway) by Alexander Armas Turpin (Best Narrative Short Film)

Flatland (Iran) by Alireza Keymanesh, Amir Pousti (Best Experimental Film)

bottom of page